Speculator – Nice LP


It’s been nearly a year since I first discovered  ”Pure Ecstacy” by Speculator - a warbling track layered in fuzzed out analog glory. The sound he creates reminds me of watching music videos on recorded VHS tapes that are close to the end of their life.

Speculator is a project of former Angeleno Nick Ray – who recently relocated to the Bay Area. Most people know Nick as a renaissance artist with an insane capacity for taking music and formats from the past and evolving them for the mix media generation. It’s creating tracks that evoke instant nostalgia where Ray excels. Think of it as the perfect soundtrack for a lost generation of millenials born between 1981-1991.

Next Tuesday Speculator will release his debut full length Nice on Underwater Peoples. Stream the album in its entirety over at Altered Zones and don’t forget to Pre-order it over at Underwater Peoples website. When you buy records – you support artists.

Download “Blue Rose” Off “Nice” Below

MP3: Speculator – Blue Rose

Aug. 30, 2011

Pre-Order Nice from Underwater Peoples here:

1. Nice Intro
2. Century Select
3. Play Nice Couple
4. Jenny Says
5. I’m a Slug
6. Colleen
7. Design
8. (It’s On) Every Channel
9. Boyfrie d
10. F.E.R.G.I.E.
11. Blue Rose
12. Sweet Emotion